User groups streamline the administration of users with common settings or permissions. Any groups can be defined at TightGate-Pro and then individual users can be assigned to these groups. Working with user groups is done as an administrator ** maint** under the menu item Group administration.
User groups at TightGate-Pro are only used for the simultaneous configuration of several user accounts; settings made via these are always transferred to the individual user accounts. User groups do not act as templates for authorisation records that are bound to the group property. This means, for example, that permissions granted via a group remain with the user accounts concerned, even if the group is subsequently deleted. Group permissions can be overwritten by a subsequent individual configuration and vice versa. In principle, the last configuration of a user account remains valid, regardless of how it was set. It is therefore recommended to follow a graduated procedure from system-wide settings via group settings to individual configuration of user accounts in order to avoid configuration errors.
The functionality of the group administration is described below:
Special case lock groups
In TightGate-Pro it is possible to create a number of predefined groups as administrator ** config** under the menu item System Preferences > Transfer MIME Type Groups and to provide them with permissions for the file lock. These groups are primarily intended for user administration via Active Directory, but can also be used in the group administration of TightGate-Pro. By creating lock groups as administrator ** config** they are automatically created in the system. If ** config** creates, for example, 3 transfer MIME type groups, these are available in TightGate-Pro as tgtransfer1, tgtransfer2 and tgtransfer3. The number of groups depends on the specifications as ** config** and always follows the scheme that the number of the group is appended to the prefix tgtransfer → tgtranfer[number]. If the groups were created as ** config** , they can also be created and used as ** maint** .
All settings take effect immediately without a restart.